Book #2 – Magician

“Tomas nodded, unable to speak.  He was burning inside, a cold fire of hatred for these Tsurani.  They had savaged his homeland and taken his brother in all but name, and now many dwarven friends lay dead under the mountain because of them.  His face was grim as he made a silent vow to destroy these invaders, whatever the cost…”

Tomas of Crydee not taking an invasion of his homeland by alien invaders too lightly….

I’ve just finished reading Magician by Raymond E Feist and, in reflection, it reads like a fantasy recipe;

Take one peaceful land

Add a generous pinch of alien invaders

Toss in equal amounts of elves, dwarves and humans

Stir in courtly sabotage and let it come to the boil

Simmer gently to allow fearsome warriors and powerful magicians to rise to the top

Finally, pour into a bowl, sprinkle with happily-ever-after and enjoy over a few nights with a nice glass of cider.

This is one of the books off the list that I’d read earlier in my youth (around twenty-five years ago) and I was interested to see if the story had aged, or whether I’d now have different expectations.  I needn’t have worried as it didn’t take long for the book to whisk me back to those days in the 1980’s when I wanted to be Pug or Tomas as they set out on their adventures.

Back then, in my teens, who didn’t want to be picked from normality and have something happen to you that gave you super powers or made you all powerful? Isn’t that the reason many of us still love comic book heroes?

Am I stupid for wanting to feel that same way I did when I was a teenager now that I’m in my forties?  Heck, no.

If a book ever stopped me feeling that way, it would be time for me to take down my bookshelf. As it is, I have Feist’s wonderful writing style with his rich descriptions, deep characters and his keen eye for the little details to thank for a trip down memory lane.

As I made my way through the book I was fortunate (?) to have forgotten enough of the story to be surprised in some parts and remembered enough to crack a smile when names from the past appeared on the page. Reading this book was like bumping into a friend you hadn’t seen for twenty years.  I came away thankful that the meeting had taken place, but bittersweet that I’d left it so long.

That being said, I won’t be rushing into book two of the trilogy just yet. Part of the reason for my resolution was to read new authors and explore different novels.

So, I’m going to enjoy a few more ciders and then choose a book that I’ve not read before; two down, fifty to go.

Leave a Reply

