Getting my life back online

Where do I start?

The month of May saw another failed attempt at me getting things back in order. The respect that I already had for some of the consistent bloggers out there has certainly increased recently.

Let’s start with the not-so-fun things;

  • Work is still keeping me busy, but I see a light at the end of the tunnel
  • An agreed training plan of 12 hours per week for 3 months is almost at an end.  This is a great weight off my shoulders as it had been agreed I could do it during work hours, yet none of that transpired and I’ve had to do it in my own time at night / weekends.
  • English Degree is almost completed.  Five of six modules are down and out, although my last one is English grammar which I find more technical than any of the IT courses I’ve done.

Now, the stuff that is going to keep me busy for the rest of the year;

  • Bought Rocksmith, bought electric guitar.  Convinced myself that if I never make it as a writer, then I may just make it as a Rock God!
  • This blog.  I’ve got a huge number of posts that I need to catch up with, some are out-of-date now but I still need to get around to putting them up.
  • My novel. I’m still hovering at around 80,000 words.  Not happy with my progress at all, but will continue onwards and upwards.
  • The list of 52 books to read in a year needs updating.  I’ve been working through them, but for all the marvels of e-books, it’s difficult to appreciate just how big some of these trilogies are when viewed in electronic form (George RR Martin, Raymond E Feist and Brandon Sanderson – I’m looking at you all).
  • Podcasts.  These all need pulling down from the Interweb and getting in a manageable order so I can start tearing through them.
  • Worldbuilding.  I’ve often read that some authors fall into a spiral of worldbuilding when working on their stories.  I can certainly see that, but I consider that had I spent the past two months working on my world, then at least I’d have something to show for it other than the markings and scratches that I have at present.

I also have a list of shout-outs for other, much more dependable and successful bloggers who (unwittingly) have kept the interest high for me over the past couple of months.

It all starts tomorrow …

Blank paper … Check

Pens … Check

A mute for a muse … Check

Leave a Reply

