Rejection

I’m in a rut.  Like every aspiring writer, I’m not only concerned with finishing my novel, re-drafting it and editing it.  I’m concerned about rejection.

Sad face on window

When the muse is bored with snatching the words from my mind as soon as they appear, she switches tact; she allows me to write, but under a cloud of self-doubt and rejection. I understand that you have to write something first to get rejected, so at least you’re still accomplishing something even if your novel isn’t quite what the publishers are looking for but I’m sure it isn’t what apsiring writers aim for.

So, whilst I watch the ice-cubes melt in my glass of Coke and imagine all the rejection letters my novel is bound to attract, I start thinking about how successful authors have had to deal with this.  

Literary Rejections is a website that has managed to collate many of the more famous rejections stories relating to famous authors in the past, or describes the rejection process in more detail (I personally like the Hollywood Script rejections with a staple 17 reasons and all the playwright received was a tick against one of them.

Another website is 100 rejections and, whilst having only 78 on their list makes you wonder if they looked hard enough, it does provide further ammunition to bring down those nagging thoughts.  Interestingly, JK Rowling’s success being down to a CEO’s young daughter had parallels with Tolkien’s Hobbit experience when being reviewed by 10 yr old Rayner Unwin. Maybe children are the best judges after all?!

One last point to finish with is that even though these authors have long since made their names (and assumingly riches), it was only a few days ago that we found out JK Rowling had written a novel under a pseudonym, Robert Galbraith.

Guess what??!?  That’s right – it was initially rejected.

 

Leave a Reply

