Five things that I have discovered about myself in 2013 (pt. 1)

It was just over a year when I decided to create this blog and use it as a foundation for my writing.  Not only would I use it to help me through some of the issues that I know would come up throughout 2013, but I’d also use it as an experiment to see how much of my free-time I could dedicate to something new.

With that in mind, I need to take stock of how the past 12 months have affected me and I’ve noted five things that I have discovered about myself during the year of 2013.

Five parts, one a day for the next five days

1. I don’t read as much as I thought I did….

This is a difficult one to admit and I’m still not sure that I can take all of the blame for this.  Firstly, at the end of 2012, I decided to sign upto a resolution of 52 books throughout the year.  I did that [blindly?] because I thought one book a week sounded easy.  Unfortunately, a few things complicated that thought including:

  • Fantasy novels are notoriously large and I picked some weighty tomes
  • I was in the final year of an English degree
  • My daughter left home and my son went to university meaning I spent more time with my wife

For all of the above, I managed to finish 12 of the 52 – that’s one a month, not one a week. However, I didn’t feel like I was reading any less.  Looking back I think I ended up compromising my list by spending time reading web forums, academic books and comic books – basically lots of things that weren’t actually on the list.

So, if anything, the first thing that 2013 taught me was that although I still read a lot, it isn’t necessarily novels, it’s whatever I have to hand at the time. Therefore, my new focus (not resolution) isn’t to read more, it is to have my books, or e-reader, closer to hand.

With regards to the list, will I admit defeat? Heck no…

The resolution has gone, but the list is going to stay. I even have plans to grow it but that is for another post.

Part 2 tomorrow…

4 comments on “Five things that I have discovered about myself in 2013 (pt. 1)

  1. […] that I discovered about myself over the past twelve months (for those who are interested, part 1 is here. […]

  2. […] of things that I discovered about myself over the past twelve months (for those who are interested, part 1 is here and part 2 is […]

  3. […] that I discovered about myself over the past twelve months (for those who are interested, part 1 is here, part 2 is here and part 3 is […]

  4. […] of things that I discovered about myself over the past twelve months (for those who are interested, part 1, part 2, part 3 and part […]

Leave a Reply

