Five things that I have discovered about myself in 2013 (Pt. 2)

Welcome to part 2 of things that I discovered about myself over the past twelve months (for those who are interested, part 1 is here. )

Five parts, one a day…

2. I don’t write as much as I thought I did

To be honest, this didn’t come as too much of a surprise to me.  After all, one of the main reasons for starting the blog was to focus my energies into completing the first draft of my novel, A Treasure Found.  Having started 2013 with around twenty chapters in various stages of development, and a word count of approximately 100,000 already in place, it should have been easy right?

As things turned out, I spent a lot of time re-writing in the first six months of the year and then the past few months either disillusioned, or busy on other things. Long story short, I’ve ended up with around 85,000 words in a ‘draft’ format but that only covers around a third of the book (gotta love Epic Fantasies) so there is still a big journey ahead of me.

As with Part 1, I have to admit that the ‘resolution’ element of the task has failed.  However, the need is still there and I’ve realised, if I am to be successful, then I need to re-focus my efforts and ensure that I spend more time writing on my novel as opposed to other things.

Part 3 tomorrow…

3 comments on “Five things that I have discovered about myself in 2013 (Pt. 2)

  1. […] Welcome to part 3 of things that I discovered about myself over the past twelve months (for those who are interested, part 1 is here and part 2 is here) […]

  2. […] about myself over the past twelve months (for those who are interested, part 1 is here, part 2 is here and part 3 is […]

  3. […] that I discovered about myself over the past twelve months (for those who are interested, part 1, part 2, part 3 and part […]

Leave a Reply

