Five things that I have discovered about myself in 2013 (Pt. 3)

Welcome to part 3 of things that I discovered about myself over the past twelve months (for those who are interested, part 1 is here and part 2 is here)

Five parts, one a day…

3. I don’t have much to say

Strange thing to say for someone who decided to setup a blog, isn’t it?  But, when you consider that I work from home and face a brick wall from the hours of 0800 through to 1730, my life experiences must be considered limited?

The main elements for my blog were, and still are, my learning experiences as I worked through producing the first draft of my novel.  However,  my realisation that I don’t write as much as I thought I would may have hampered that.  Furthermore, my resolution to try and read 52 novels in year also got in the way of me reading the books that would have helped me more in the craft of writing.

Fortunately, I’m working on correcting that; I’m going to add some non-fiction books to my list of outstanding reads and make a marked effort to get through them and use that knowledge to help grow my blog and also continue finish the first draft of my novel.

In terms of output, I think I was fairly naive to think I could keep up the X number of posts per week that I initially set.  I follow quite a few people on my blog and some of them are prolific bloggers (upwards of 20+ posts per day), whilst others post a couple of times a month.  I think I’d like to sit somewhere in-between, but I’m not making the mistake of setting anything in stone.

Part 4 tomorrow…

2 comments on “Five things that I have discovered about myself in 2013 (Pt. 3)

  1. […] Welcome to part 4 of things that I discovered about myself over the past twelve months (for those who are interested, part 1 is here, part 2 is here and part 3 is here) […]

  2. […] I discovered about myself over the past twelve months (for those who are interested, part 1, part 2, part 3 and part […]

Leave a Reply

