Five things that I have discovered about myself in 2013 (Pt. 4)

Welcome to part 4 of things that I discovered about myself over the past twelve months (for those who are interested, part 1 is here, part 2 is here and part 3 is here)

Five parts, one a day…

I had to break this next one up into two parts as I’m still not sure which of the two had the biggest impact on me.

1) I’m inconsistent.  Really?  It’s not a surprise.  I mean I want to blame this on the types of work that I’ve done in my life; early shift, flexi-time, permanent nights, twelve-hour shifts and split shifts.  Is it any wonder I have trouble sticking to a routine?  Furthermore, up until the past three years, the work I did was mainly IT support which meant that I never knew what I was going to be doing from one hour to the next.  What is frustrating is that I do have some consistencies in my life, but they tend to be in areas that I consider to be unhelpful, such as completing timesheets at work at 0915 every Friday, or walking the dog twice a day.

I can see myself having to overcome a big hurdle if I’m to improve my inconsistency.  After all, it’s hard to change anything after you’ve been doing it for twenty-five years.  I just hope you can teach an old dog new tricks…

2) I have a habit of setting myself difficult challenges.  Take 2013 for instance, I set myself the following;

  • Complete first draft of novel
  • Read 52 books in a year
  • Learn to play the guitar
  • Run a sub-50 minute 10k run
  • Complete my English degree
  • Start up a blog and regularly update it
  • Create a website based on the world in which my novels / short stories are based

Guess which one of those I actually finished?  Yup, the English degree and we all know why – when the deadline is placed upon you by someone else, you tend to make sure you don’t fail it; it’s a lot easier to break your own rules.

I once read that to help reinforce any goals you may have been set you should publicise them – the idea being that once enough people know about them, it makes it harder to fail them.

I’m still not too sure on that one but 2014 will help me make up my mind.

Pt 5 tomorrow….

One comment on “Five things that I have discovered about myself in 2013 (Pt. 4)

  1. […] Welcome to part 5 of things that I discovered about myself over the past twelve months (for those who are interested, part 1, part 2, part 3 and part 4) […]

Leave a Reply

