Five things that I have discovered about myself in 2013 (Pt. 5)

Welcome to part 5 of things that I discovered about myself over the past twelve months (for those who are interested, part 1, part 2, part 3 and part 4)

Five parts, one a day…

5. My ideas come at inappropriate times.

I imagine for a lot of other writers, the muse visits us at different times or sometimes not at all (that’s how the name amuteforamuse was born). For me, it’s often at the most inconvenient times, such as walking the dog.  I do carry a nexus 7 with me and take full advantage of the word editor on it, but it is difficult to get everything down whilst you walking along the street.  Furthermore, I walk the dog in-between me working so I’m often getting in and then sitting down to work which means hardly any time to make sense of my notes.

Another time is just as I drop off to sleep.  Often I’ve been thinking about stories and plots throughout the day and the characters, words and all just seem to hit me at a fast pace whilst I’m laying flat out.  Again, I keep the notes but at some point I have to get to sleep.

Both ways mean I usually end up with a good set of notes, but very little substance behind them.  There is nothing worse than knowing you thought of a good few lines of conversation between two main characters but have forgotten what it was.  In addition, it’s just as frustrating to be reading a jumbled set of notes and not understand what they exactly meant just a few hours before.

This is something I can change, it is something I can fix but it’s going to take some effort.

Leave a Reply

