Words fail me…

Hmm, just when I think that the boundaries of our language couldn’t be breached any further, I read this story on the BBC news site.

How to read a poem consisting only of punctuation

Not sure how I feel about it.  I do think that there are people who would have no problems at all debating the beauty of such a piece, and also the pro’s and con’s of its style; the author himself suggests that the poem was a protest against censorship under white rule.  I suppose that being the case, there is some merit to the amount of white-space taken up that somehow erases almost all content by removing the black letters.

Personally, if I was faced with that exam question, I’d suffer a distinct feeling of dread whilst I hoped there’d been a printing error on the exam paper.

Leave a Reply

