Hobbit 1st Edition goes for £137,000

Guess who can’t afford a 1st Edition of The Hobbit?

I’ve been collecting Tolkien books since I was a young boy.  It was in my darkened bedroom that I become the un-official 10th member of the Fellowship and stuck with them through thick and thin.

I still have that old trilogy box-set that my mum bought me back in 1997 except now it’s one of dozens of versions across different languages, editions and special editions.  I do have a thought at the back of my mind to be buried with that particular set, although I’m now just happy for it to be on my bookshelves.

Unfortunately, I very much doubt I will ever afford the prices of the 1st Editions but there are always dreams, and the Euromillions lottery 🙂

Leave a Reply

