Grey: New Fifty Shades of Grey book stolen

As an avid reader, I try to keep a working knowledge of popular books, even those outside of my genres of Fantasy and Sci-fi. However, I must admit that, being a man in his early forties, Fifty Shades of Grey, and it’s sequels have never appealed to me. Even when the movie came out, my wife watched it with a bunch of her friends and I got to spend a peaceful night just writing.

So, whilst reading about how a manuscript of the latest sequel, Grey, has been stolen, I find myself in two minds about it.

Mind ‘one’ thinks that it’s something that I’ll never read, or watch, and so has little bearing on my daily life. I should just read the news report and move on. There are intellectual rights of authors, singers, movie-makers all over the world constantly being stolen and handed out. Is this any different to the latest series of Game of Thrones being passed around on USB sticks and DVDs?

Mind ‘two’, however, is a writer and is saddened to think that an author’s work could be leaked out ahead of its intended release date by an immoral third party. As aspiring writers, we know how much blood, sweat, and tears goes into getting those words on the page. We know how much we would be looking forward to our novel’s national release, never mind a release on such a global scale as Grey.

I sincerely doubt that it will have too much of an impact on the novel’s success, nor the fame and money that is duly deserved to the author. But to have all that excitement, planning and expectation tarnished by such news must be truly disheartening to EL James.

The cynical mind ‘one’ is already suspecting if this is some kind of publicity stunt – but does a sequel to a book that has sold over 125 million copies need such publicity? Surely, all the mind ‘one’ people don’t care, and the mind ‘two’ people know about it already.

Leave a Reply

