And so it begins..

There’s a lot starting to happen this week that I’m please about.

Firstly, I’m really excited to be on the edge of beginning to study my MA in Creative Writing with Teesside University. I’ve just made my ‘hello world’ post on the forums and am really keen to start to get to know my fellow students and also my tutor. I’ve already done some reading ahead of schedule and have picked up some really good information about routine and commitment.

Secondly, this week marks the first of four weeks with Futurelearn’s course on William Wordsworth. I can’t pretend that I spend much time in the world of poetry, but this fine chap lived and wrote very close to where I live and, when I did my English Literature degree, I felt his poems jumped from the page. It’s only fair that I take a few hours out of my schedule to pay this wonderful poet the respect that his writing deserves. As with the Writing Ficion I’ll be sending out progression updates so people can make their own choices about whether they would feel the course worthwhile.

Finally, I’ve managed to pull a bunch of pictures off my camera from some of the visits to various cities on my holidays. Some of them really got my creative juices flowing and I felt flash fiction fall from the sky!

Leave a Reply

