R.I.P Iain Banks

After posting about Iain Banks fight with terminal cancer recently, I was saddened to hear that he had lost his fight whilst I was away on holiday (June 9). I understand he did manage to see a final pre-published copy of his final book, The Quarry, which was something he strove to do.  Ironically, the book tells the story of a boy coming to terms with his father who is terminally ill.

Iain was considered one of Britain’s best authors and wrote in both the Science-Fiction and mainstream fiction genres (as Iain Banks and Iain M Banks respectively).

Having first gained popularity for writing The Wasp Factory, he went on to write the extremely popular Culture series.

I have to admit that I’ve not read any of his books, nor did I know too much about him, but I always feel saddened to read, or hear, about an author passing

A website was setup for people to post their support and feelings for him whilst he was alive.  It may sound morbid, but some of the messages are truly inspiring.

If you wish to learn more about the man, and his books, then this website is for you.

One comment on “R.I.P Iain Banks

Leave a comment